Oceans of Grace

ImageWe live by faith in the ever-arriving power of future grace.

–John Piper

This morning, as I walked our Sheltie, Keira, I listened to the John Piper sermon on II Thessalonians 1. The air was cool—unusually so for August, and Keira was frisky. The sky, cleared of clouds by rain the night before, formed a robin’s egg blue canopy above me. I leaned into Pastor John’s words.

II Thessalonians 1:11-12 reads, “To this end we always pray for you, that our God may make you worthy of his calling and may fulfill every resolve for good and every work of faith by his power, so that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you and you in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.” (ESV)

Rich wisdom fills that passage and Pastor John served it out, piece-by-piece, word-by-word, precept-by-precept. I chewed on this statement of his: We live by faith in the ever-arriving power of future grace.

Ever-arriving grace. Grace coming “moment by moment.” Grace fulfilling our resolves. Grace as the power of God. Grace. Grace. Coming into my life in waves, one grace after the other. Constant. Ongoing. Eternal. Like the ocean.

I love the beach. I love the sand, the gulls, the sun, and the great, green Atlantic. When I go out into the water where the breakers roll, sometimes the waves crash onto my head. Sometimes they carry me gently on their great shoulders, sailing me into the shore. And sometimes, they wash over me as if I am the sand on the beach.

Grace is like that. Sometimes, God’s grace hits me hard, leaving me sputtering and gasping for breath.  Hard knocks are needed to change my heart and make me “worthy of his calling.” Sometimes grace carries me on its great shoulders, “fulfilling every resolve for good and every work of faith by his power.” Sometimes it washes over me, cleaning away whatever has been scratched into my life, making me smooth, “that Jesus may be glorified” in me and me in him. Christ in me, the hope of glory.

Grace, grace, ever-arriving grace … as sure as the ocean, as deep as the sea.[1]


[1] Copyright 2013 Linda J. White

About lindajwhite

I love God, my family, dogs, the beach, and books of all sizes,shapes, and colors. I write "white-knuckle fiction"--FBI thrillers with a Christian twist. My favorite authors are John Piper, C.S. Lewis, and Paul. Someday, I hope to hear, "Well done, ..." But if I do, it'll be because Jesus has carried me through. Come visit my website at lindajwhite.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oceans of Grace

  1. Omni6192 says:

    Hi Linda, hope you are doing well, loved this:)

Leave a Reply

