Love those Chincoteague ponies!

Anyone who has read “Misty of Chincoteague,” Marguerite Henry’s classic children’s book, has heard of Pony Penning, the annual round-up of the wild ponies that live on neighboring Assateague Island. I can tell you, Pony Penning was one of the highlights of my summer when I was a kid and my grandparents lived on Chincoteague! Every year, I’d buy tickets for the raffle pony and imagine taking it home to Rockville, Maryland in the back seat of my dad’s car. In my mind, if I won the raffle, he’d HAVE to let me take it home, right?

Well, that never happened, but I loved the ponies, nonetheless. This year, we’ll spend a week in Chincoteague for Pony Penning and we’ll be introducing our grandchildren, Noelle and Zeke, to the wonders of that island. I’ll also have four book signings at Sundial Books … but more on that later.

What is it about the Chincoteague ponies that intrigue us so? It begins with their origins … which I’ll write on next.Image

About lindajwhite

I love God, my family, dogs, the beach, and books of all sizes,shapes, and colors. I write "white-knuckle fiction"--FBI thrillers with a Christian twist. My favorite authors are John Piper, C.S. Lewis, and Paul. Someday, I hope to hear, "Well done, ..." But if I do, it'll be because Jesus has carried me through. Come visit my website at lindajwhite.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

