Newtown

The massacre at Newtown is beyond comprehension. I can’t begin to imagine what the parents and siblings, teachers and friends of the victims are going through today. I pray for them, weep for them, mourn for them.

Ironic, isn’t it, that Jesus’s birth was also marked by the massacre of the innocents. The evil King Herod, so threatened by the Babe, ordered the death of all the boys ages two and under in Bethlehem. What tears must have been shed, what sorrow must have filled the land!

I believe Satan, who hates mankind with a bloodthirsty passion, particularly hates children. Children represent innocence, purity, dependence, and trust. They particularly bear the Image of the Baby born to vanquish the Evil One. And so, children become targets of Satan’s vile plans.

But I believe in a God who says “Suffer the little children to come unto me.” A God who understands the innocence of those little hearts, not fully ready to comprehend spiritual realities. I believe that, as David said, they will not return, but we will go to them.

May the love of God be poured out on those children’s families in very real and poignant ways, and may His peace overcome the terrible anguish of these days.

About lindajwhite

I love God, my family, dogs, the beach, and books of all sizes,shapes, and colors. I write "white-knuckle fiction"--FBI thrillers with a Christian twist. My favorite authors are John Piper, C.S. Lewis, and Paul. Someday, I hope to hear, "Well done, ..." But if I do, it'll be because Jesus has carried me through. Come visit my website at lindajwhite.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

